AVID

Last Updated: 2/24/2021 9:56 PM

 

pvhs avid logo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

How the AVID Program Works

 

AVID works is by bringing in research‐based strategies and curriculum to educational institutions in elementary, secondary, and higher education. The AVID System annually provides 60,000+ educators with training and methodologies that develop students’ critical thinking, literacy, and math skills across all content areas throughout the entire campus, in what we call School wide AVID.

 


AVID Team Members

 

justin marquis

brittany holt

blank square labeled ryan brown

michelle allen

Justin Marquis

AVID Coordinator 

AVID 12th Grade

justin.marquis@phusd.org 

 

Brittany Holt

AVID 11

brittany.holt@puhsd.org

 National University

 Bachelors in Mathematics, Masters in Mathematics  

 Dual Enrollment Math, AVID, Algebra 1 

"Students don't care how much you know, until they know how much you care." -John Maxwel

 

Ryan Brown 

AVID 10

ryan.brown@puhsd.org

 Cal State University Sand Marcos (BA: Literature and Writing)

National University (MA: Gothic Literature)

 

Michelle Allen 

AVID 10

michelle.allen@puhsd.org

Arizona State University, BA Liberal Studies

National University MA Education

Math and AVID

My favorite quote "Dreams don't work unless you do."

 

 

justin shives

magalli acosta

ivan lumba

Justin Shives

AVID 9

justin.shives@puhsd.org

 Chapman University and National University

B.FA in Television and Broadcast Journalism, minor in Economics; Single-Subject Credential and Master's in Educational Administration

Algebra, Sports Stats, and AVID

 "Success comes from knowing that you did your best to become the best that you are capable of becoming." -John Wooden

 

Magalli Acosta 

AVID 9 

magalli.acosta@puhsd.org

University of California, Riverside (Sociology, Spanish, Teaching Credential)

Azusa Pacific University (MA in Educational Counseling & Counseling (PPS) Credential)

 

Ivan Lumba

AVID Counselor

ivan.lumba@puhsd.org 

University of Phoenix (BA: Business Administration and Management)

University of Redlands (Teaching Credential, Masters in Educational Counseling)

"There is a reason why you meet people: one, they are going to change yourlife or you're going to change theirs"